My idea of exercise is a good brisk sit. ~Phyllis Diller

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

Back to the grind.

Music Man Jr is over and my kids were fantabulous. I most certainly got “work outs” in- and possibly permanent knee damage with all the crawling around after kids I did!

I think trying to camouflage exercise only works when you’re really busy. Trying to pass off babysitting once in a blue moon as exercise works- I’d say- once in a blue moon and that is all. It’s a new week. A new month. I figure it’s time.

I have gone for half hour sweaty speed walks for the past two days. There was no mistaking it for anything else but exercise, try as I might. It started out as a jog- and then I got to the top of a hill and everything started going fuzzy. I decided if I wanted to see the end of the day I should stick to walking. Who the hell do I think I am- a miracle worker?

Once I get home I stretch and do some random yoga poses I’ve picked up for the 8 times I’ve done my yoga video here at home. See that, I’m talking as if this is a regular routine. I’ve done it twice. I dusted off some hand weights and even gave those a spin. It’s a wonder I can hold my arms up to the keyboard. The key is good music. And boy am I random. I skip around from classical to My Chemical Romance. Somehow, depending on my mood, they can evoke the exact same emotion. It’s all so clear now. Beethoven was the angst-ridden performer of his time. Nobody put words to his music, but I’ll bet ya they would’ve been “I’m NOT OKAY”, too.

Still, the 10 loads of laundry I’ve had to do in the past two days has gotta count for something. I have 16 steps leading up to my front door and I’ll be damned if that ain’t regular exercise- especially with baskets full of clothes and towels and sheets and blankets.

I’m gonna be a hard ass. Er have one… er something.

Leave a Reply

